Aurora Newmarket
Calling all writers! 

For the 9th annual CFUW Short Story Contest you are invited to create a short story starting with the words: “The message was clear”.  

Last year there were over 160 entries. CFUW runs this contest, in partnership with Metroland Media, York Region, with the goals of promoting literacy and encouraging young writers. We select the winners through a rigorous process with three levels of judges that include Club members, the writing contest committee and three finalist judges. The finalist judging panel consists of our CFUW Club president, a Metroland Media representative and local author, Meghan Ferrari. 

Our Celebrity Judge, Meghan Ferrari grew up in Caledon, Ontario, and received an Honours Bachelor of Arts in English and History and a Bachelor of Education from Queen’s University, as well as a Masters Degree in Social Justice Education from the University of Toronto. She is an active member of the Aurora Public Library Writer’s Group, and has published poetry and short stories. Her first novel The Garden is a poignant yet inspiring young adult novel that sheds light on the social impact of modern military conflict and the plight of innocent victims displaced by it.
Meghan Ferrari
Click here to read about the launch of Meghan Ferrari's new book -- The Garden -- and the newcomer students who inspired it.